Massachusetts Association for Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (MAADAC) Meeting (Virtual)

Thursday, March 28, 2023

Present: Ronda Jones Tobey (President), Linda Mullis (Treasurer), Christine Kelly (Secretary), John Finneran (VP), Martha Deering, Willy Drinkwater, Linda Mazak, Tom Peltz, Nancy Reis (1st VP), Devin Stevenson, Peter Crumb

Agenda & Minutes

- 1. The meeting was promptly called to order and proceeded with its agenda.
- 2. Reviewed table invitation at New England Summer Studies at Worcester State University. One day event in the first weekend of June. Martha Deering volunteered to host the table.
- 3. Discussed Survey question results: gathered 3 responses, which had to do with insurance paneling and LADC I billing issues. Discussed LADC 1 being sued outside their scope of practice. A similar survey was posted by the State Task Force (Addiction Education Advisory group through BSAS) in MA on a community site, which showed overlap to the same issues that the MAADAC survey highlighted.
- 4. Department of Developmental Services (DDS) regulations update qualified professionals: Now added speech pathologist, physical therapist, but not LADC I. Suggested to bring the issue to the BSAS education group and House of Representatives. Suggested to create a sub-committee to address legislative issues specifically.
- 5. Annual Golf Tournament: Is scheduled for May 31, 2024. On the website there is a sponsor opportunity sheet (maadac-ma.org).
- 6. Treasurer's Report- checking account and CD's are in good standing.
- 7. Motion created to: Contact legislation and draft proposal to inform legislation how important LADC inclusion is with insurance and billing. Motion seconded by Martha Deering.

Next meeting to be held virtually for Thursday, 4/25/2024 at 10:30.

Prepared 4/19/2024 C. Kelly, Secretary

Officers for the MAADAC Regions 2024/25

Region I: President – Nancy Reis

Alternate –

Secretary – James Plaza

Region II: President - Mark Rebello

Alternate – Martha Deering

Secretary – John Finneran

Region III: President – William Drinkwater

Alternate – Thomas Pletz

Secretary-Felice DeRuggiero

*Region IV: President – Linda Mazak

Alternate – Deborah Ford

Secretary-Joe Kelleher

Region V: President – Ronda Tobey

Alternate -

Secretary-

*Region VI: President – Devon Stevenson

Alternate – Christine Kelly