Massachusetts Association for Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (MAADAC) State Meeting (Virtual)

Thursday, November 30, 2023

Present: Joe Kelleher (President), Linda Mullis (Treasurer), John Finneran (Secretary), Peter Crumb, Martha Deering, Felice De Ruggerio, Willy Drinkwater, Debbie Ford, Linda Mazak, Sue O'Connor, Tom Peltz, Jim Plaza, Mark Rebello, Nancy Reis, Devin Stevenson. Ronda Tobey, Christine Kelly

Agenda & Minutes

- 1. The meeting was promptly called to order and proceeded with its agenda.
- 2. Reviewed election results for Regions IV, V and VI. Completed list of regions and officers is included below.
- 3. Discussion of LADC-1 Letter to BSAS: Membership examined draft of letter to BSAS recommending revision of Regulations to allow for diagnosis and treatment of persons with Co-Occurring Disorders (Substance Use and Mental Disorders) by LADC-1's. This is important especially for LADC-1's in private practice. Discussed by members, suggestions made to draft. Will revise the draft and circulate to members.
- 4. Discussed Survey questions: Suggested adding a question to members: "Are you aware that the Board is investigating issues related to reimbursement for diagnosis and treatment of mental health disorders? Do you have any suggestions or ideas regarding this issue?
- Annual Membership Meeting: Topic of meeting will be "Creating Healthy Relationships." Speaker: Cynthia Moreno Tuohy. Date of meeting is 1/26/2024. Held over Zoom. Four CEU hours. Cost: Members Free; non Members \$30.00. Payment deadline is 1/20/2024. Flyer to be sent out shortly.

6. Election Results for 2024/25 term:

President Ronda Jones Tobey First Vice President Alternate President: Nancy Reis Vice President: John Finneran Secretary: Christine Kelly Treasurer: Linda Mullis Officers take their positions January 1, 2024.

7. MAADAC Annual Awards:

- a. Special Recognition Award Senator Joan Lovely
- b. Counselor of the Year Award Ronda Jones Tobey
- c. Outstanding Service Award Independence Hall, Dennis Leary
- d. Robert Logue Memorial President's Award Hugh McCray
- e. Educator of the Year Award

Next meeting to be held virtually for Friday, 1/26/2023.

Prepared 11/30/2023 J. Finneran, Secretary

Officers for the MAADAC Regions 2024/25

Region I: President – Nancy Reis

Alternate –

Secretary – James Plaza

Region II: President – Mark Rebello

Alternate – Martha Deering

Secretary – John Finneran

Region III: President – William Drinkwater

Alternate – Thomas Pletz

Secretary- Felice DeRuggiero

*Region IV: President – Joe Kelleher

Alternate – Linda Mazak

Secretary

Region V: President – Ronda JonesTobey

Alternate –

Secretary-

*Region VI: President – Linda Mazak

Alternate – Christine Kelly